Armenia’s grandmaster Levon Aronian claim the Norway chess title. Aronian won the title with six points following a 59-move draw with Wesley So. In the end, only the two kings remained on the board. Norway’s Current world no.1 Magnus Carlsen is now on the edge of losing his world number 1 rank.


Viswanathan Anand, who was world champion between 2000 ,2002 and between 2007 and 2013, held current World champion Magnus Carlsen to a draw for the seventh spot of Norway Chess tournament.

Current chess world number 1 Magnus Carlsen from Norway fail to win the Norway chess title. Magnus Carlsen has placed his world number 1 ranking at risk. He faced 2 defeats and six draws which has been reduced this distance from other 5 rivals.

Levon Aronian claim the Norway chess title

1 Levon Aronian 6
2/3 Nakamura 5
2/3 Kramnik 5
4/6 Caruana 4½
4/6 So 4½
4/6 Giri 4½
7/9 Vachier-Lagrave 4
7/9 Anand 4
7/9 Carlsen 4
10 Karjakin 3½